The CMDA is a Section 21 company (not for profit), which acts as agent for the eThekwini Municipality, provincial and national government. The CMDA is the facilitator of development in Cato Manor, responsible for ensuring an integrated yet expeditious development process.

Key functions of the CMDA

  • To create a context for the efficient implemention of projects, including the protection, assembly, consolidation, subdivision and allocation of land; the production of spatial plans and ensuring their statutory approval; the planning, co-ordination and management of the mobilisation of financial resources for development activities; and the building of local capacity to engage with and access development opportunities.
  • To identify and prepare projects for implementation by an array of public, private and community agencies.
  • To co-ordinate the activities of implementors in Cato Manor and assist in the resolution of problems.
  • To act as developer of ‘last resort’.

Metropolitan Special Presidential Projects Committee (MSPPC)
Chaired by the Metro Mayor, this committee meets annually to consider annual plans and budgets, to review progress and to establish the main policy directions for the CMDP.

Councillor O. Mlaba (Chairperson of MSPPC) - Mayor, eThekwini Municipality
Mr M. Mabuyakhulu - MEC Minister of Economic Development & Tourism - KwaZulu-Natal Province
Mr D. Makhaye - MEC Minister of Housing – KwaZulu-Natal Province
Councillor N. Dube - Speaker of the eThekwini Municipality
Councillor S. Gumede - Member of the eThekwini Municipality EXCO
Dr M. Sutcliffe - Municipal Manager - eThekwini Municipality
Mr W. Mchunu - Chairperson of CMDA
Mr S. Govender - Deputy Chairperson of CMDA
Mr K. Schmidt - First Counsellor: EC Delegation in SA
Ms B. Leon - Project Officer: EC Delegation in SA
Mr I. Kidane-Mariam - EU Technical Advisor: National Department of Finance
Mr J. Wallis - National Department of Housing

Cato Manor Management Committee (CMMC)
The CMMC meets monthly to carry out the CMDP’s principal co-ordinating and management role. It consists of the CEO of the eThekwini Municipality, or his designate, currently the Executive Director of the Metro Housing Service Unit, the Director-General of the Provincial Department of Housing, or his designate, and the CEO of the CMDA.

The CMDA Board
The CMDA is governed by a Board of 20 directors who formulate policy, appoint an executive team, drive the project and monitor progress. Stakeholder constituencies represented are provincial government, metropolitan government, local community as well as relevant institutions and experts. There are six Board committees: the Audit Committee, the Community Relations Committee, the Consultants Appointment Review Panel (CARP), the Tender Review Committee, the Staffing and Remuneration Committee and the Local Economic Development (LED) Committee.

Board Members with effect from 22 October 2002
Provincial Government
Mr W. Mchunu, MP (Board Chairperson)
Mr R. Burrows, MP
Mr P. Ngcobo, MP
eThekwini Municipality
Councillor S. Gumede
Councillor N. Chamane
Councillor G. Fourie
Councillor E. Mtshali
Councillor J. Singh
Cato Manor Community Organisation
Ms N. Mfuphi
Mr B. Zondo
Ms J. Nhlangulela
Mrs E. Herempi
Mr V. Ndwandwe
Mr V.M. Pillay
Specialist Members
Mr S. Govender (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr J. van Coller
Mr D. Vincent
Mrs B. Scott, MP
Ms R. Champion
Mr R. Persad
Ex-Officio Member
Mr C. Forster (CMDA CEO)

eThekwini Municipality
The eThekwini Municipality supervises the CMDA’s operations. It also co-ordinates the functions and activities of local government line departments, assists with the procurement of local government approvals, executes the CMDP’s internal audit controls and establishes and maintains systems to take over and operate the infrastructure developed. These functions are managed by the Metropolitan Special Presidential Projects Committee and the Cato Manor Management Committee.

messages |introduction | location | background | partnerships|institutional arrangements|project cycle | engineering infrastructure | housing | social infrastructure | local economic development | the way forward | CMDA home